Learn Japanese

28 09 2006

Since I gratuated in July, I have not work at any company until now. I have much leisure time, so it is better for me to do something useful. Besides read some books (I still read “You Can Win” by Shiv Khera and “Tazkiyatun Nafs, Intisari Ihya Ulumuddin” by Said Hawa), I also learn Japanese. Why Japanses? Why not Arabic? I have learnt basic Arabic when I was in High School. Actually, I still want to learn Arabic so I can understand what the content of Holy Quran is. But, I still can understand a little bit. Maybe sometime, I will advance my Arabic.

So, why I learn Japanese? Because I Like Japan Movies (Anime and Dorama), Music, Culture, Discipline, and the “Kawaii” Girls of course😀. It is better for us (especially for me) to understand what you watch, listen, or whatever you like, isn’t it? And also, I have a dream to go to Japan someday to study or just for travelling😀. First, I want to learn how to read Hiragana or Katakana. Because most people in Japan write Hiragana or Katana or even Kanji. It’s only a Basic Tutorial about Alphabets in Japan. Here is a tutorial taken from (http://www.timwerx.net/language/bitlang/index.htm). Or you can get other nice tutorial by search using Google.

There are 4 alphabets used in Japan today: hiragana, katakana, kanji, and romaji. Here they are in a nutshell:

Hiragana

Hiragana is the first system you want to learn, as they are phonetic symbols or “pronunciation guides” for kanji, and have an extensive role in Japanese grammar. Hiragana is the first alphabet that children learn, and, at any age, is the “default” alphabet used when a particular kanji is unknown or forgotten.

Here are the basic 46 hiragana with their readings:


Hiragana also play an important role in Japanese grammar as subject and object indicators, prepositions, and other particles.

Katakana

Katakana are used to write foreign words and names, and the names of some Japanese companies. They are also often seen expressing the sounds of various noises in comic books.

Kanji

Kanji are characters which were originally adopted from the Chinese. Though similarities still exist, Japanese kanji have evolved and changed differently than their Chinese counterparts, and now have forms and readings all their own. Kanji are used for the core parts of a sentence — nouns and the root forms of verbs and adjectives. Hiragana are used as the “cement” between the kanji to indicate their relationship to each other, and to conjugate verbs.

You need to know around 2,200 kanji to read a Japanese newspaper. The study of kanji can be fascinating, however, and the more you study them the more sense they make (excepting the exceptions), making it easier to learn more.

Romaji

Romaji are simply the ABC’s we all know and love, but the Japanese like to use them, too. Large, international companies usually have logos and emblems with their names written in the Roman letters. Internationally known organizations and other names and titles like OPEC, FBI, NASA, AIDS, and VIP are left as-is.

Now, I am still learn 46 Basic Hiragana, just like a kid in Japan😀. However, Late is better than Nothing!

Here is my name in Hiragana :

Haijiru Abaji desu (My name is Chaidir Abadi)


Haijiru Abaji desu (My name is Chaidir Abadi)


Actions

Information

5 responses

28 09 2006
Autophytes

something. (5) n. (John Canoe). Bands of elaborately masked dancers vital, organic, natural, wholesome; refers to way of

1 10 2006
nico

hoho,gaya euy!!! boku wa nico desu..yoroshiku neeee…

1 10 2006
chaidir

yoroshiku….

12 04 2009
Nikou

Hello,

Great post for learning Japanese.

Japanese is so hard for me. I’ve lived in Japan for 2 years but failed to speak fluently. Now, I’m in China, I’m having an easier time with Mandarin. I wrote a blog post about the difficulties I had learning Japanese over Chinese. TheShanghaiExpat. Please feel free to visit and let me know if you are interested with link exchange.

Nikou

14 06 2010
Ahmed Sancho

Harusnya pakai katakana karena Mas Chaidir memiliki nama yang tidak punya bentuk kanji seperti orang Jepang atau orang Cina.

Mestinya ハイディル

Leave a Reply

